OUR VISIT TO THE STONE COTTAGE

Yesterday was a lovely day. We were planning to go to the  stone cottage. Luckily we are close to the cottage, because it is just across the road from our school. At the front door we saw a woman dressed like she was from the 1900’s. She introduced herself as Terry. Then as we were about to go inside we saw Patrick, the historian of the stone cottage.

The first room we went to was where we met Josephine,  and she was one of the people who have helped to take care of the cottage for many years. I was interested in the kitchen where they used the fire. 


The second room was the bedroom where there were a lot of interesting things. The one that caught my attention was the potty, and we learned that it was the mother’s job to throw it away and clean it every day. The moustache cup is also interesting because they rested their moustaches on the lip of the cup so the hairs didn’t get wet.  

 

I think that our visit was very interesting because my dad picks us up everyday outside the cottage and I never knew what it was. Now I can share my knowledge with my family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *